2021 DTM field with 19 drivers and five brands

  • From eleven countries: international mix of Formula 1, DTM champions, GT3 aces, youngsters and a lady racer
  • Two months prior to the season opener: eleven teams with race cars from five brands
  • New to DTM: Ferrari and McLaren – comeback by Mercedes

Munich (16 April 2021). There are 19 drivers from eleven countries on the provisional entry list of the 2021 DTM with a distinguished mix of drivers with Formula 1 experience, former DTM champions, seasoned GT3 aces and up-and-coming youngsters. Five different brands, from Audi and BMW via returnee Mercedes to newcomers Ferrari and McLaren, will be represented by eleven race teams. There are still two months remaining until the DTM’s 35th season will get underway with the first of eight race weekends at Monza in Italy (18-20 June).

Alex Albon (THA), Timo Glock (GER) and Christian Klien (AUT) are racing in DTM with Formula 1 experience. While German crowd favourite Glock will be participating in all the races, Albon is also on duty as a test and replacement driver for Red Bull Racing and will be alternating with Nick Cassidy (NZL) in the Ferrari in selected DTM races. Like Albon, who already raced in Germany during his Formula 3 days, Cassidy is no stranger to DTM. In November 2019, he won the SUPER GT x DTM Dream Race at Fuji in Japan. Ex-Grand Prix driver Klien will be racing the McLaren 720S in three rounds. Two young drivers with Formula 2 experience are joining the DTM field: only 19-year-old top talent Liam Lawson, the winner of the recent Formula 2 season opener at Bahrain, as well as 23-year-old Arjun Maini from India.

No less than five DTM titles are included in the provisional drivers’ field: both Marco Wittmann (GER) and returnee Gary Paffett (GBR) are two-time champions, Mike Rockenfeller (GER) has one title to his name. Joining them are reigning runner-up Nico Müller (SUI) as well as DTM race winners Lucas Auer (AUT), Daniel Juncadella (ESP) and Sheldon van der Linde (RSA). On the other hand, there are many experienced and successful GT3 stars like Kelvin van der Linde (RSA), Maximilian Götz (GER), Vincent Abril (MON) and Philip Ellis (SUI). With Sophia Flörsch (GER), there is also a female driver on the grid again for the first time since 2012.

At least five international premium car brands battling for the championship in the 2021 DTM

The high level of internationality with eleven countries in the field also reflects the DTM’s worldwide reputation. “Already now, two months prior to the season opener, it has been confirmed that DTM will be broadcast live in over 50 countries. That is massive. On top of that, we have a long-standing and strong partner with SAT.1 for the German-speaking region. By means of streaming services like our own online platform DTM Grid, DTM can be followed on any smartphone all over the world,” Benedikt Böhme, managing director of ITR GmbH, responsible for organisation and marketing of the series, points at the DTM’s considerable reach.

While Audi and BMW were by themselves in DTM most recently, Mercedes-AMG is now making its comeback on the grid as a long-standing participant. Coming in as new challengers are Ferrari from Italy and McLaren from the UK. As a result, the DTM is getting back an impressive brand variety from its earlier days, along with different concepts featuring front and mid-engines with eight and ten cylinders, atmospheric and turbocharged engines.

Last week’s first official test days at Hockenheim gave a promising outlook on the 2021 season. “The huge anticipation from the drivers, finally being able to get behind the wheel, was noticeable on both days. For over 2,300 laps, the drivers staged an exciting battle for the times. That was a strong first encounter. We can brace ourselves for hotly contested races,” says Frederic Elsner, Director Event & Operations of the ITR organisation. Teams and drivers will gather for another official DTM test at DEKRA Lausitzring from 4-6 May.

Provisional entry list 2021 DTM (as of 16 April 2021)

3 Kelvin van der Linde RSA ABT Sportsline Audi R8 LMS
4 Maximilian Götz GER Mercedes-AMG Team HRT Mercedes-AMG GT3
5 Vincent Abril MON Mercedes-AMG Team HRT Mercedes-AMG GT3
8 Daniel Juncadella ESP Mercedes-AMG Team GruppeM Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3
9 Mike Rockenfeller GER ABT Sportsline Audi R8 LMS
11 Marco Wittmann GER Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M6 GT3
12 Dev Gore USA Team Rosberg Audi R8 LMS
15 Christian Klien** AUT JP Motorsport McLaren 720S GT3
16 Timo Glock GER ROWE Racing BMW M6 GT3
18 Gary Paffett GBR Mercedes-AMG Team Mücke Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3
22 Lucas Auer AUT Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Mercedes-AMG GT3
23 Alex Albon* THA Alpha Tauri AF Corse Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo
30 Liam Lawson NZL Red Bull AF Corse Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo
31 Sheldon van der Linde RSA ROWE Racing BMW M6 GT3
36 Arjun Maini IND Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3
37 Nick Cassidy* NZL Alpha Tauri AF Corse Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo
51 Nico Müller SUI Team Rosberg Audi R8 LMS
57 Philip Ellis SUI Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Mercedes-AMG GT3
99 Sophia Flörsch GER ABT Sportsline Audi R8 LMS

* – Albon and Cassidy will alternate / ** – non-permanent participant

More posts

Partners & Sponsors

Did you know...
We offer tickets to various events at the Hockenheimring.