First encounter at Hockenheim: DTM starting the new season with 29 GT race cars entered

  • Fans admitted: full field of participants in official test on Tuesday and Wednesday
  • 2022 DTM: Star ensemble from 15 nations, Porsche in the brand sextet for the first time
  • DTM debut of a legend: nine-time rally world champion Sébastien Loeb with Ferrari

Munich/Hockenheim (4 April 2022). With the largest field of participants in over two decades, drivers from 15 nations and GT race cars from six brands, DTM is getting its 36th season underway. On Tuesday and Wednesday this week already, the official test days at Hockenheimring are the first encounter. Audi, BMW, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Mercedes-AMG and, for the first time, Porsche have been entered for the new season in the long-standing race series with a total of 29 GT race cars. The drivers’ field assembles 15 nations and 36 high-class championship titles. This Monday morning, DTM surprised with the announcement that nine-time rally world champion Sébastian Loeb will be making his debut in the internationally acknowledged race series. The Frenchman will be participating in at least two races with the Ferrari of the Red Bull AlphaTauri AF Corse team as a replacement driver for New Zealander Nick Cassidy.

Spectators and fans can already convince themselves of the extraordinary quality of the 2022 DTM vintage during the Hockenheim test days, and that even free of charge in the paddock and the grandstand overlooking the famous Sachs corner. No doubt, the countdown for the season is running: from 29 April until 1 May, DTM is racing at Portimão in Portugal for the first time with the first two of 16 sprint races. DTM will also visit Imola for the first time, will return to Spa-Francorchamps and will again race at the Red Bull Ring in Austria and in Germany at Norisring, DEKRA Lausitzring Turn 1, Nürburgring and at Hockenheimring for the finale. Tickets for this spectacular DTM season are available at and +49 1806 991166. In German-speaking countries, DTM will be broadcast on ProSieben for the first time.

Such a large field with 29 permanently entered race cars hasn’t been seen in DTM, founded in 1984, since its restart in 2000. Eight Mercedes-AMGs, six Audi R8s, six Lamborghini Huracáns, three Porsche 911s and two Ferrari 488s form the impressive field. Porsche, a dominating force in the Deutsche Rennsport-Meisterschaft (DRM) in the 1970s, is embarking on its debut season in DTM. BMW is racing with the newly developed M4 in 2022 and Audi and Lamborghini are running further developed versions of the R8 and the Huracán.

The drivers form an illustrious star ensemble with a wealth of achievements between them. Next to Sébastien Loeb with nine world championship titles, Dane Nicki Thiim, Porsche works driver Laurens Vanthoor (BEL) and Mercedes-AMG contracted driver Maro Engel (GER) have been decorated with five further titles from the FIA, the global governing body for motorsport. Moreover, the class of 2022 combines 16 further international titles and 38 wins in classic endurance racers. Six DTM championship titles are the combined total of Audi-works driver René Rast (GER), who became DTM champion in 2017, 2019 and 2020 and is now returning with the Audi R8 run by Team ABT Sportsline after a one-year absence, BMW works driver Marco Wittmann (GER/BMW/Schubert Motorsport), the 2014 and 2016 champion, and Maximilian Götz (GER), who claimed his first championship crown in October 2021.

Talking about the defending champion: Götz, from Lower Franconia, has moved to a different team within the Mercedes ranks and is taking on the title defence with Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Racing. The team with the highest point score last year was Ferrari outfit Red Bull AlphaTauri AF Corse while Mercedes-AMG ended up as the manufacturer with the highest number of points. The youngest driver in the field is 19-year-old Marius Zug (GER), who is driving an Audi R8 run by Attempto Racing. Among the rookies is also David Schumacher (GER), only one year older. The son of ex-Formula 1 driver Ralf Schumacher is competing for Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD.

“The 2022 DTM is spectacular and fascinating. In any case, the indications could hardly be any better,” Frederic Elsner, director event & operations of the DTM organisation ITR, is convinced. “The quality of the drivers’ field is simply outstanding, it is the ‘who is who’ of GT racing. And with 29 cars permanently entered, the quantity is tremendous, too. Our expectations really have been exceeded. We are all very curious to see what the drivers and the teams will be staging on the circuits. First and foremost, however, fans at the race tracks and spectators in front of the TV screens all over the world can look forward to breath-taking motorsport.”

» DTM 2022: the entry list (as of 4 April 2022)


1 Maximilian Götz GER Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Racing Mercedes-AMG
3 Kelvin van der Linde RSA Team ABT Sportsline Audi R8
4 Luca Stolz GER Mercedes-AMG Team HRT Mercedes-AMG
6 Alessio Deledda ITA GRT Lamborghini Huracán
7 Ricardo Feller SUI Team ABT Sportsline Audi R8
10 Esteban Muth BEL Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M4
11 Marco Wittmann GER Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M4
12 Dev Gore USA Team Rosberg Audi R8
18 Maximilian Buhk GER Mercedes-AMG Team Mücke Motorsport Mercedes-AMG
19 Rolf Ineichen SUI Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracán
22 Lucas Auer AUT Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Mercedes-AMG
24 Thomas Preining AUT KÜS Team Bernhard Porsche 911
25 Philipp Eng AUT Schubert Motorsport BMW M4
26 Esmee Hawkey GBR T3 Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán
27 David Schumacher GER Mercedes-AMG Team WINWARD Mercedes-AMG
31 Sheldon van der Linde RSA Schubert Motorsport BMW M4
33 René Rast GER Team ABT Audi R8
36 Arjun Maini IND Mercedes-AMG Team HRT Mercedes-AMG
37 Nick Cassidy* NZL Red Bull AlphaTauri AF Corse Ferrari 488
37 Sébastien Loeb* FRA Red Bull AlphaTauri AF Corse Ferrari 488
51 Nico Müller SUI Team Rosberg Audi R8
63 Mirko Bortolotti ITA Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracán
66 Marius Zug GER Attempto Racing Audi R8
74 Felipe Fraga BRA Red Bull AlphaTauri AF Corse Ferrari 488
85 Clemens Schmid AUT GRT Lamborghini Huracán
88 Maro Engel GER Mercedes-AMG Team GruppeM Racing Mercedes-AMG
92 Laurens Vanthoor BEL SSR Performance Porsche 911
94 Dennis Olsen NOR SSR Performance Porsche 911
95 Nicki Thiim DEN T3 Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán
99 Mikaël Grenier CAN Mercedes-AMG Team GruppeM Racing Mercedes-AMG

* – Sébastien Loeb replacement driver for Nick Cassidy

More posts

Partners & Sponsors

Did you know...
The fact that our magazine "Motodrom Insight" is published every