The Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters (DTM) kicks off the new season with a spectacular and unique highlight for motor sport fans. From 5 to 7 May, the DTM stars will be locking horns for the first time this season at the Hockenheimring in Baden-Württemberg. But they will not be the only ones racing that weekend at the Motodrom because, like last year, they will once again be joined by the drivers of the FIA Rallycross World Championship. The combination of these two top-class racing series promises an amazing weekend of non-stop action.

Last year saw a long-held dream of DTM fans come true: “back-to-back” DTM races with one race on the Saturday followed by another on the Sunday. It went down really well! And that is the way it will stay. For the upcoming season, the three premium car manufacturers Audi, BMW and Mercedes Benz have each entered eight racing cars. The same number of “crowned heads” will take to the starting grid in 2016: eight former DTM champions head a top-class group of drivers.

The Audi team is thought to have the best chance of winning the two opening races on the famous Grand Prix circuit. After all, the last four victories have gone to the team from Ingolstadt. In any case, the Audi secured the most number of victories in 2015. But the championship titles went to their rivals. That means that Audi still has a score to settle. With its proven team of drivers, it is certainly well equipped to be successful in 2016. Audi’s driving line-up will include Jamie Green, Mattias Ekström and Edoardo Mortara, who finished the 2015 Drivers’ Championship in second, third and fourth places respectively behind first-placed Pascal Wehrlein. In addition, Mike Rockenfeller, Miguel Molina, Timo Scheider, Nico Müller and Adrien Tambay will start the season in the Audi RS 5 DTM car again.

“Never change a winning team!” is the motto adopted by the Munich-based BMW team. After a rough start to the season, BMW picked up the coveted DTM Manufacturers’ Championship at the final race in Hockenheim thanks to an excellent team spirit. Five different drivers from the four BMW works teams tasted victory in the M4 DTM car. That is why BMW will continue to rely on its established team of drivers, most notably Bruno Spengler, Marco Wittmann and Maxime Martin, who were the team’s three best placed drivers last year. Fans of Timo Glock, Augusto Farfus, Tom Blomqvist, António Félix da Costa and Martin Tomczyk also have a reason to be excited as all five drivers will be racing for BMW again this year.

The defence of the Drivers’ Championship is one of the goals of the Mercedes AMG DTM team – even without former driver Pascal Wehrlein who used last season’s DTM title as his ticket into Formula 1. His place in the established Mercedes driving team is taken by the 19-year-old French driver Esteban Ocon. The GP3 Series Champion is already familiar with DTM: he was the test and reserve driver for the Stuttgart-based team for every DTM race in 2015. The two former DTM champions Gary Paffett and Paul di Resta spearhead this experienced driving crew, which also includes Robert Wickens, Christian Vietoris and the Spaniard Daniel Juncadella. In addition, Lucas Auer and Maximilian Götz are set to start their second year in DTM.

Alongside the DTM, the Audi and Porsche single-brand cups and the daring races of the Rallycross World Championship are sure to cause excitement. In keeping with the finest traditions of the racing weekend, there will also be autograph sessions, open-air concerts, evening events – and all at family-friendly ticket prices. And remember: the exciting DTM season finale takes place at the Hockenheimring from 13 to 15 October*.

Season Start 5th - 7th May 2017*

Season Finale 13th - 15th October 2017*

Once again, fans can look forward to action-packed events at Hockenheim. For more information please go to www.dtm.com.